Friday, February 29, 2008

SXU’s School of Education awards scholarships for 2008

Five students honored for academic and personal excellence

From left: Scholarship Committee Chair Mary Coffey, Stacey Kasprzyk, Shelby Stercic, Nikki Lacy, Jeremy Ekeler, Patricia Smith Adaranijo, and School of Education Dean Beverly Gulley.

Chicago (Feb. 29, 2008) Five students from Mount Greenwood, Garfield Ridge, Addison, Tinley Park and LaGrange have been awarded scholarships for excellence by Saint Xavier University’s School of Education.

Beverly Gulley, dean of Saint Xavier University’s School of Education, recently announced the winners of the 2008 Binder, Davis, Gallagher, Leake and Malin Scholarships. These five scholarships were funded by donors to recognize the qualities exemplified by those for whom the scholarships are named: Dr. Dorothy Binder; Dorothy Davis; Elaine Gallagher; Dr. Lloyd Leake; and Julius and Catherine Malin.

“We are very proud of all those students who applied,” Gulley said. “We thank them for sharing their stories, dreams and plans with the Scholarship Committee. We know that as they continue their journey at Saint Xavier University and in the teaching profession, those qualities highlighted in their applications will continue to be a source of pride for them and the School of Education.”

Jeremy Ekeler, of LaGrange, Ill., was awarded the Dr. Dorothy Binder Endowed Graduate Scholarship, for $1,611. Ekeler, a graduate student in the educational administration and supervision program, was recognized by the scholarship committee for his passion for teaching. A former teacher and coach at Pius X High School in Lincoln, Neb., Ekeler is described as committed to excellence, hospitality, compassion, service and his students.

Stacey Kasprzyk, of Chicago’s Garfield Ridge neighborhood, was awarded the Dorothy Ritter Davis Scholarship, a $7,200 tuition grant funded by the estate of alumna Dorothy Davis. Kasprzyk is a secondary education graduate student whose extensive volunteer work and academic excellence were inspiring to others. She is described as a “born teacher” with an appreciation for diversity.

Shelby Stercic of Chicago’s Mount Greenwood neighborhood was awarded the Elaine Gallagher Scholarship, a $2,000 tuition grant funded by the estate of alumna Elaine Gallagher and donations made in her memory. Stercic is an undergraduate in the biology secondary education program who epitomizes the roles of leader, coordinator, team player and motivator. The scholarship committee recognizes her enthusiasm for teaching science, love of learning, and demonstration of service.

Nikki Lacy, of Addison, Ill., was awarded the Dr. Lloyd Leake Scholarshp, a $2,700 tuition grant funded by the family and friends of the late Dr. Leake for an African-American undergraduate student. Lacy, an elementary education student is described as meticulous, dutiful, and tireless in her efforts to assist others. The scholarship committee recognizes Lacy’s commitment to excellence, service and integrity.

Patricia Smith Adaranijo, of Tinley Park, was awarded the Julius and Catherine Heerey Malin Scholarship, a $4,000 tuition grant funded by the estate of Helen Heerey. A graduate student in the multi-categorical special education program, Andaranijo is active in her church, community and the NAACP, especially in activities combating racism. She is described as an articulate, competent, experienced woman of excellence and integrity.

Students are encouraged to submit entries for next year’s scholarships. Applications will be available in October 2007. For more information about Saint Xavier’s School of Education or the scholarships, please call (773) 298-3177 or visit the School of Education Web site at


Contact: Rick Ducat
773-298-3325 or

No comments:

Subscribe in a reader